#1 Florida College 2, #3 Alfred State College 0

FINAL SCORE: #1 Florida College 2, #3 Alfred State College 0

FIRST SET: 25-10 | SECOND SET: 25-13

LOCATION: Dana Hall, SUNY Canton

TOURNAMENT RECORDS: Florida College 4-0, Alfred State College 2-2

ON THE COURT: The #1 Florida College Falcons defeated #3 Alfred State College Pioneers in straight sets, 2-0 (25-10, 25-13), to finish pool A action with a 4-0 record.  Alfred State College finishes pool A action with a record of 2-2.

The Falcons used quick runs to take big leads over the Pioneers in each of the two sets. A 8-1 run by the Falcons turned a 4-4 tied match into a 12-5 advantage, which caused a Pioneer timeout. With an 18-10 advantage, the Falcons used a 7-0 run to take the first set from the Pioneers. 

The second set turned out to be similar to the first set as Florida College recorded 18 kills on 30 total attacks compared to 7 kills on 27 total attacks for Alfred State College.  The Falcons used a 7-2 run to take a 10-5 lead and forced a Pioneer timeout, however, it did not slow down the Falcons attack. The Falcons finished out the set on a 9-4 run to earn a 25-13 match victory.


  • USCAA Player of the Year, Malea Kalina, recorded a game-high 13 kills on 27 total attacks for the Falcons
  • Second Team All-American, Abilene Rouch, recorded 30 of the Falcons 31 assists and also had a game-high 7 digs
  • First Team All-American, Kay Pfleghardt, led the Pioneers with 5 kills and 4 digs
  • Florida College finished with an advantage in team kills, total attacks, assists, and digs

PLAYER OF THE MATCH:  Malea Kalina, Florida College

NEXT UP: Florida College ends pool A action with a record of 4-0 while Alfred State College ends with a record of 2-2.  Each team will now head to the bracket portion of the 2014 USCAA Volleyball National Championships. #1 Florida College with face #7 Penn State Fayette at the Convention, Athletics, Recreation Center at 5:30pm in the quarterfinals.  #3 Alfred State College will play #6 University of Cincinnati-Clermont at 5:30pm in Dana Hall in the quarterfinals.